UK removes Somalia from the Red List


LONDON [SMN] – The UK has removed Somalia from its Red List in a move that will ease travel.

With effect from October 11, arrivals from Somalia and 46 other countries will no longer have to undergo mandatory hotel quarantine. They will, however, be required to do a PCR test before traveling.

In a major overhaul, the UK removed 47 countries from the Red List and only seven countries remain on the list, including Peru and the Dominican Republic.

Announcing the update on Twitter, UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the 47 re-categorized countries will be moved to Britain’s “rest of the world” list.

Some of the African countries removed from the list include Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, eSwatini, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique and Namibia.

Others are Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here