Jubaland elects last four seats in Somali senate


KSIMAYO, Somalia – Jubbaland’s SEIT announced it held the election of 4 Senate seats in Kismayo on Thursday, marking the end of a long journey to wrap up the voting process.

Hassan Dahir Yarow was declared to be the winner of the 5th seat following the defeat of his rival candidate Abdi Hussein Ali with 59 votes.

Ibrahim Awgaab Osman also won the 6th seat with 57 votes, defeating Farhiya Maalim Abdi.

Layla Nur Maax won the seventh seat with 63 votes, defeating Haredo Mohamed Sheikh.

Maryan Farah Kadiye also won the last eighth seat, receiving 50 votes, according to the Electoral Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here