Jubaland picks final Senate seats in Kismayo


KISMAYO [SMN] –  Jubbaland has today concluded the election of senators joining Puntland, HirShabelle, and Somaliland which have wrapped up the exercise.

In today’s vote, two women- Maryan Farah Kadiye and Laylo Nur Maah were elected in women-only seats. Other senators elected are Ibrahim Aw-Gaab and Hassan Dahir Yarow.

The conclusion of today’s vote adds to eight the number of senators elected for Jubaland. The first four senators were elected on July 29.

The southern state now prepares for the election of MPs which starts with the selection of electoral delegates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here