Last five Somaliland senators elected in Mogadishu


MOGADISHU [SMN] – Clan delegates in Mogadishu have elected the last five senators for the northern regions [Somaliland], including two women.

Two women – Naima Mohamud Hassan and Deeqa Hassan Hussein were elected. Other candidates who were elected are Said Abdi Hassan, Ahmed Mohamed Said, and Ahmed Mohamed Qorane.

Only Naima Mohamud Hassan and Muna Omar Hassan presented themselves on the ballot. Muna lost to Naima by 30 votes to 13. The rest of the candidates sailed through without opposition after their opponents withdrew from the race.

The conclusion of today’s vote now brings to 46 the number of senators elected countrywide so far. Only eight seats remain to be filled.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here