Somaliland picks six senators in Mogadishu election


MOGADISHU [SMN] – Somaliland delegates voted for six members to Somalia’s Upper House of Parliament on Wednesday during an election in Mogadishu under tight security.

Abdi Hashi Abdillahi, the outgoing Speaker of the Upper House won the first seat without a contest after his contender Said Omar Hussein withdrew from the competition.

Salah Ahmed Jama, the current Minister of Constitution secured his seat after defeating former Chief Justice Ibrahim Lidle Saleban.

Three candidates contested the third seat who were Prof. Mohamed Mohamud Allabari, Prof. Abdi Ismail Samatar, Abdirahman Osman Ali.

Prof. Abdi Ismail Samatar was the winner. The Information Minister Osman Dubbe was elected to the senate. Layla Ahmed Ismail won the fifth seat.

Finally, Bilal Idris Abdillahi secured the sixth seat. The electoral body said five seats will be elected on Thursday in Afisyoni.

By Omar Nor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here